The other side of Jamie Lynn Spears and Juno.*

Standard

I adore this baby because it’s not in my house, crying at 3 a.m. to be fed
and then expecting me to change its diaper.

Slate’s Emily Yoffe has a thought-provoking article on out of wedlock births in light of the fantastic box office returns of Juno and Jamie Lynn Spears‘ teen pregnancy.

I highly recommend that everyone read it because the children are the future. What frightens Tallulah in the article? The letters from unwed mothers on their all too common status. Read on…

“Having a child will be stressful and life altering enough. Parents need to work on their relationship on their time schedule.” “I feel that a baby is its own blessing. Have that blessing before you get married.” “How dare you imply that an unexpected pregnancy should lead to marriage? You are simply out of touch with modern culture.”

WTF? WHY SHOULDN’T A BABY LEAD TO MARRIAGE OR AT LEAST A STABLE TWO PARENT HOME? WHY IS IT OKAY TO CONTEMPLATE GETTING KNOCKED UP WITH A DUDE BUT NOT CONTEMPLATE HAVING A FAMILY WITH A DUDE? IS THERE SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE SELECTED BABY DADDY? ALSO, IF AN UNEXPECTED PREGNANCY DOESN’T LEAD TO SOME KIND OF LONG TERM COMMITMENT FROM THE PARENTS, DON’T GET UPSET WHEN YOUR BABY DADDY STARTS DATING (AND POSSIBLY PROCREATING) WITH SOMEONE THAT ISN’T YOU. OF COURSE THIS CAN HAPPEN EVEN WITH A MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE BUT THAT’S A RISK YOU TAKE WHEN PLAYING BABY ROULETTE.

More…

“My boyfriend and I have a 4-year-old son. We’ve broken up but realized that we truly are meant for one another. My father was diagnosed with stage four cancer last year, and I’ve made it known to my boyfriend how important it is for me to have my father with me when I get married. When I bring up marriage to my boyfriend his reply is we will get married, I promise, but he has not asked me.”

USING SOMEONE’S CANCER FOR A RING IS A PATHETIC PLOY AND SOMETHING I THOUGHT ONLY HAPPENED ON SOAP OPERAS. IF I WERE THIS WOMAN’S BOYFRIEND, I WOULD LAUGH IN HER FACE. HERE’S MY ADVICE TO HER AND OTHERS LIKE HER: MAKE UP YOUR MIND. IF MARRIAGE IS THAT IMPORTANT TO YOU AND YOUR BABY DADDY HAS NO INTENTION OF FOLLOWING THROUGH, DECIDE IF YOU CAN LIVE WITH THAT OR IF YOU NEED TO MOVE ON. I’M NOT SAYING CUT HIM OUT THE CHILD’S LIFE OR FIND PETTY, MANIPULATIVE, VINDICTIVE WAYS TO PUNISH HIM FOR NOT CHOOSING YOU. I AM SAYING MAKE A CHOICE THAT DOESN’T INVOLVE A TERMINAL ILLNESS TO GET AN ADULT MALE TO MAKE A LIFETIME COMMITMENT TO YOU AS THE MOTHER OF HIS CHILD.

More…

“My ex is rather immature and irresponsible. I had a recent fling with him that resulted in pregnancy. I am overjoyed with the impending arrival of my baby, but I fear that no one else in my life will feel the same way.”

NO SHIT, BABY MAMA. I WOULD LOVE TO KNOW IF SHE’S TOLD MR. IMMATURE AND IRRESPONSIBLE OF HER PLANS. MY BABY, INDEED. WONDER IF SHE’S GOING TO BE SAYING MY BABY WHEN SHE’S IN COURT TRYING TO GET HER EX TO PAY CHILD SUPPORT.

I need to stop reading these letters because they make my head hurt. Why should I care that some people choose to take on the burden of single parenthood? I care because children of unmarried parents start off life with a major disadvantage that impacts how they are socialized and perform in school. It’s heartbreaking to see children lost before they’ve even had a chance to thrive. I’m being  ajudgmental scold because I believe why should children suffer because their parents feel having a plan is something for other people to do.  I don’t care what happens in Juno…out of wedlock parenthood is not cute in that fake hipster indie way.  And I HATE THAT MOLDY PEACHES SONG THEY PERFORM AT THE END OF THE MOVIE, TOO.

*I have not seen Juno because I like to use my discretionary income for birth control.

2 thoughts on “The other side of Jamie Lynn Spears and Juno.*

Add Your Two Cents

