There’s pretty little thing/waiting for the King/down in the Jungle Room….

Standard

Marc Cohn Memphis Catfish Cheesy Song of the Day

Cheesy Song of the Day, May 17:
Walking in MemphisMarc Cohn

Most of the time, I can’t stand earnest.  It gets on all of the nerves of my inner cynic.   But this song came on the radio the other day and I melted.

Such an unabashed love song!  Marc Cohn’s lyrics document the soul & history of this vibrant American city so vividly, I feel like I can smell the catfish on the table.  I hear the blues, Martin Luther King, Jr.’s assassination, Elvis Presley, the acceptance of the slowed down pace that takes over your body once you go down South.

And I sang with all my might/She said tell me/ if you are Christian/Ma’am I am tonight!

I am too.

What’s YOUR Cheesy Song of the Day?

Pic via.

3 thoughts on “There’s pretty little thing/waiting for the King/down in the Jungle Room….

  1. Favourite Tallulah Bankhead story. Talullah is in a party and a bloke comes up to her and says ‘Tallulah, I haven’t seen you in over 30 years.’ ‘I told you to wait in the car,’ quips Tallulah.

Add Your Two Cents

