i posted it but I can’t listen to it…

Standard

cheesy song of the day july 8 blogger tallulah bankhead

Cheesy Song of the Day, July 8:

‘Everything Happens For A Reason’ Zhane

When I started this list, I would listen to every song to get in touch with the emotional place that made me love the song in the first place.  It’s a little ritual that I would use for an inspiration boost  to write the accompanying post. Inevitably, it would mean listening to the song 4 or 5 (maybe even 10!) times in a row.  This ritual was a reminder to myself of music’s power to heal.

I couldn’t make it through one complete playing of this song.

And I am surprised by my reaction.  Because I listen to every track on Adele’s breakup album without shedding a tear, I believe (or pretend to believe) that I am  immune to those feelings of despair, loneliness and general fuckedupness.  That is a myth.

Here’s a truth:  there’s another song that does the same thing — not going to name it because it will be on the list at a later date. But this week when it came on my iPod and I had to shut it down because I felt like the walls were closing in and I couldn’t take how thoroughly awful and sad I felt.  I feel.

Although, I cannot listen to the song without being emotionally overwhelmed, I hope you do.

What’s YOUR Cheesy Song of the Day?

Pic via.

2 thoughts on “i posted it but I can’t listen to it…

Add Your Two Cents

