from my late night reading….

Standard

I don’t look like Angelina Jolie but that’s okay because I don’t want to date Brad Pitt. Or George Clooney. I want to date my Mr. Darcy.

The Guardian‘s What I’m really thinking series is addictive! 

Anyone can submit what they are really thinking about their lives – from the stressors to the joys they derive from being petty, slightly misanthropic arseholes.  The illustrations by Lo Cole are a delightful counterpoint to the bite and bitterness.
I do recommend getting a cup of your favorite beverage and indulging in every submission.  And if you need one to whet your appetite — let me share excerpts from Matchmaker’s entry:

When I started a dating business six years ago, I was looking forward to helping nice people meet other nice people. What could be a happier way to make a living than making other people happy? I’ve since discovered many of you are single for a reason: you are middle-aged people who are embittered and unrealistic about your own personal qualities and attractiveness.

The process has left me with a bad taste in my mouth about the chances of love for the over-50s. As you tell me how so-and-so isn’t good enough for you, I’m thinking, “Have you looked in a mirror?” Or, “No wonder your wife/husband left you. I can’t bear an hour of your self-aggrandising assessment of your merits.”

Many of you believe you are still as gorgeous and sexy as you were at 18 and only George Clooney or Angelina Jolie will do. You assume you are fascinating – do you really think collecting teapots or bell-ringing elevates you above the “ordinary” people you are introduced to?

Reality check for anyone who is about to embark on their next online dating profile!
If you check out the series, please let me know your thoughts in the comments ….don’t worry I won’t judge!

Pic via.

Add Your Two Cents

