From October 2011 – October 2012, I watched the #GilmoreGirls religiously…

Standard

because I was recovering from a blood clot, struggling with anemia due to a fibroid the size of honey dew melon and dealing with the end of a 10 year romantic relationship.  Work, therapy, wine and the lives of Lorelai and Rory Gilmore in Stars Hollow were the main things keeping me semi-functional and somewhat sane.

Gilmore Girls provided an escape from a deep emotional valley. And although I am thrilled Netflix will start streaming the entire series today,  I’m not sure if it’s the smartest thing for me to revisit the show and that time in my life. Then I remembered the episode when Lorelai and Luke broke up and how Lorelai gave into her despair…

‘He could have been the one’

I know what that feels like. I lived that.  But I also lived through it.

So I will be watching every single  Gilmore Girls episode. Not in some quest to relive when I didn’t know who I was or needed to be but to celebrate that it was okay to be depressed to get to better.

Add Your Two Cents

